Why A Famous Inventor Stopped Going To Church

benFranklin

Do you know of anyone who has stopped going to church? Have you considered it?

You’re not alone. Benjamin Franklin, the Presbyterian, stopped going to church.

I wanted to know why he stopped going to church. Here are a few answers I found, and some are quite funny:

(1) “he felt bored of the sermons of his minister, so he rather concentrate on his writings”

(2) “He got upset with God for destroying his kite.”

(3) “He became more interested in “Current” affairs…”

Franklin’s reason is given in his autobiography:

My parents had early given me religious impressions, and brought me through my childhood piously in the Dissenting way. But I was scarce fifteen, when, after doubting by turns of several points, as I found them disputed in the different books I read, I began to doubt of Revelation itself. Some books against Deism fell into my hands; they were said to be the substance of sermons preached at Boyle’s Lectures. It happened that they wrought an effect on me quite contrary to what was intended by them; for the arguments of the Deists, which were quoted to be refuted, appeared to me much stronger than the refutations; in short, I soon became a thorough Deist.

I had been religiously educated as a Presbyterian; and though some of the dogmas of that persuasion, such as the eternal decrees of God, election, reprobation, etc., appeared to me unintelligible, others doubtful, and I early absented myself from the public assemblies of the sect, Sunday being my studying day, I never was without some religious principles. I never doubted, for instance, the existence of the Deity; that he made the world, and govern’d it by his Providence; that the most acceptable service of God was the doing good to man; that our souls are immortal; and that all crime will be punished, and virtue rewarded, either here or hereafter.

Tho’ I seldom attended any public worship, I had still an opinion of its propriety, and of its utility when rightly conducted, and I regularly paid my annual subscription for the support of the only Presbyterian minister or meeting we had in Philadelphia. He us’d to visit me sometimes as a friend, and admonished me to attend his administrations, and I was now and then prevail’d on to do so, once for five Sundays successively.

If Franklin would be here today, I’m certain he’d be tired of some clergy such as Zionist shill John Hagee preaching that Jesus was a real estate agent for Zionist Israel.

Leave a Reply

